Fried Sage and Cheese Ravioli

I don’t know about you all but I am thankful for some cooler weather. Well, actually cold temps are making me happy right now.  I needed a break from cutting my grass!!

I love my yard, my flower and a veggie gardens and of course my patio.  But, keeping it going all summer is hard work.  And usually by September, I am tired and fed up with the humid and hot weather.  Not to mention the bugs!

All my garden beds are sleeping and I think my lawn is finally sleeping!  My back and hurting shoulder are thankful for the rest.  But in all honesty, after Christmas I’ll start planning the garden beds for the spring.

Any new flowers or veggies I want to try will be on a list and I’ll start to draw out designs too. But, let’s get to this recipe! 

The one thing I did have going, up to Thanksgiving anyway, was my pots of herbs by the back door.  They are done now but up to the Thanksgiving holiday I was trying to create some new recipes to use up the herbs.

And this fried sage and cheese ravioli did NOT disappoint!  It comes together quick and goes perfect with a small side salad and a little rosemary parmesan flatbread (I’ll post that next).

The first thing I did was get a little pot of water to boil, you do still have to cook the frozen ravioli.  If you are making fresh, I would still do a quick simmer with them.  The uncooked dough would not be very tasty I’m sure.

While the water came to boil I started to melt some butter along with a little olive oil. When it was hot, I tossed in some clean and DRY sage leaves.  I kept the heat low enough so it didn’t burn while the ravioli finished cooking.

As soon as the ravioli was done, I transferred each ravioli to some paper towels to dry and then carefully added them to the hot butter and oil.  Be careful, it can still spit a little.  Do not over cook, the dough can get a little tough. 

Then I just gently fried the ravioli until a light golden brown. I did sprinkle with some salt and pepper. Transfer to a plate, sprinkle with fresh grated parmesan cheese and enjoy.  The entire process only took about 15 minutes.

A glass a Pinot Noir went well with this dish!

Enjoy!!

FYI, be sure to follow me on Facebook, I have a lot almost daily ramblings and posts. I have hardly posted anything here lately because I have been dealing with a lot of tummy issues for almost 2 years now, and I get sick on a lot. So cooking is few and far between because I am still trying to find what works for me. Although sometimes that changes. It’s been frustrating to say the least. Anyway, see you over on Facebook under Kartwheels in the Kitchen.

Leave a comment