Bite sized yellow squash with marinara sauce and shrimp

I had a hard time trying to decide what to call these little delicious bites of yumminess! So I just called them what they are!

These little delights make a great side dish with pasta or chicken, and are even delicious on their own. And they make a great appetizer too!

I preheated my oven to 350.  While the oven preheated, I prepared the shrimp.  I used deveined and peeled shrimp with the tails removed. Place the shrimp in a bowl and coat with olive oil. Next comes the seasoning, and you can use whatever you like.  I used a little season salt, ground cayenne pepper, salt and pepper, Old Bay Seasoning, a little cumin, smoked paprika, and garlic powder.  Coat the shrimp thoroughly, scatter over a baking sheet in a single layer and bake until cooked through.

While the shrimp are baking, slice the yellow squash in rounds, about ½ to ¾ inches thick.  Place on a plate and drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Heat up a grill on your stove or just use a fry pan. Grill or cook until JUST tender and remove from the heat.

Place them in a single layer on a baking sheet. Add a spoonful of marinara sauce and top with one or two of the cooked shrimp. Sprinkle with a little shredded mozzarella cheese and back until the cheese melts.

Don’t they just sound delicious!!  Enjoy!

 

Find me on Facebook, there is a link on my home page or search for Kartwheels in the Kitchen.

Leave a comment