Favorite Time of the Year!

I love Autumn! It’s my favorite time of the year. The colors, the flavors (yes I’m a pumpkin spice fan!), the fall festivals and events, love it all! And, if you have never gone to the beach in October or November, you must go at least once! The air is so refreshing and clear, the only noise you hear is the seagulls and waves crashing, and best of all….no crowds of people!!

On Labor Day weekend I started getting my fall décor out, I don’t have the space or the finances to decorate like some of the sites I follow on Instagram, WOW they are gorgeous and I love love love the look of the rooms! But for me, I just put a few things out for now. I have been working on gathering more, and I plan to make some pillows and throws within the next few weeks.

JoAnn Fabrics has their plaid material on sale so I will be checking that out today, I want to make pillows. And I have a few crocheted throws to make, one for my granddaughter and one for a friend at work.

I’ve also been bringing in a lot of Limelight Hydrangea flowers, I just LOVE those! And they dry so nice too so I can keep them year round.

Unfortunately, some of them are looking a little sad right now, with all the gray days and rain that we have had, they are not doing so well. My other plants are pathetic too. I already had to get rid of my petunias several weeks ago, I had black petunias and they were gorgeous but this year they were home to a ton of aphids that I could not get rid of, so they are gone.

I have Creeping Jenny in my planters and hangers, they are not doing well. And I have these gorgeous white and purple annuals that look like daisies, they are full of mold from all the rain. And my white marigolds are long gone!

So sad to get rid of the flowers, I usually can make it to October with most of my flowers but not this year.

So this weekend I will bring some mums and asters home, I try to wait until October so they can be around for Thanksgiving but my flower plan this year is not working out.

Hope you all are having a great weekend!

Leave a comment