Roasted Tomato Salad Dressing (or veggie dip!)

This creation is that of my friend Jen at work. She had some tomatoes to use up before they spoiled so she made a veggie dip, and it was delicious!

Jen and I share a love of cooking and trying different recipes. I have been trying to talk her into a food blog so stay tuned!

Anyway, she told me she roasted some tomatoes, used about ½ cup of greek yogurt but when she tasted it she decide to add mayo. Which I think she was trying to avoid! She also used the juice of a half of a lemon. I had to make it! I was looking for something different for a salad dressing and decided to give it a try, so here is what I did…

I roasted a pint of grape tomatoes, drizzled with olive oil and salt and pepper. I put them in a 325 degree oven until they were roasted really really well!! You will not need an entire pint, I only used about ¾ of a cup of them and the rest will be used probably on a pasta dish.

I put the ¾ cup of tomatoes (and some of the oil along with them) in a small blender that I have, added a half cup of plain greek yogurt, ¼ cup of mayo, juice of half a lemon and a little salt and pepper. I added a few drops of hot sauce, that kicked it up a little and was really tasty!  Then I pureed until smooth.

Give it a try as a veggie dip or salad dressing, it is yummy! I plan to make it again as a sauce over grilled veggies. Thanks Jen for sharing it with me!

Roasted Tomato Dip/Salad Dressing

¾ cup roasted grape tomatoes, plus the oil from roasting

Salt and pepper

½ cup plain greek yogurt or sour cream

¼ cup mayo

Juice from half of a lemon

Hot sauce, optional, to taste preference

Place all ingredients in a small blender and puree until smooth and creamy.

Be sure to follow my Facebook page for daily posts. Have a great day and live well friends!

Leave a Reply

