Banana Bread with Walnut Crumb Topping

I was craving banana bread! And this time I wanted it to have a crumb topping, absolutely heaven!

img_3577

Nothing soothes my soul more than a delicious moist loaf of banana bread. Okay, well maybe the beach does that too, but I sort of mean my tummy soul!!

The craving probably started when I went to the grocery store, wandering around the produce section and found a display of really over ripe bananas! And bags of walnuts laying on the display too. Very clever marketing strategy! It was almost as though they purposely bought over ripe bananas and walnuts just for those that wanted banana bread!

Anyway, this recipe is for one loaf, which is more than enough for me. In fact, half of it will go in the freezer. But it will be hard to part with, if even for a few weeks.

img_3576

To a bowl I added all of the ingredients for the bread and blended on a medium speed until completely mixed and poured into a greased loaf pan. Easy!

Next I made the crumb topping, carefully place on top of the batter making sure it is completely covered with this delicious nutty and sugary mixture.

img_3577

As mentioned before, my oven…. I have a love hate relationship with the smaller over and I really need to learn to bake in the larger bottom oven, but when will I actually do this? The bottom and sides often are over done before the center is finished baking. *sigh

Here’s the recipe:

Banana Bread with Walnut Crumb Topping

For the bread

2 large eggs

1-3/4 cup of flour

½ cup sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

½ tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 cup mashed banana

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Add all of the ingredients except the mashed bananas. After the batter is mixed well, gently blend in the banana, do not over mix. Pour into a greased loaf pan.

For the crumb topping

½ cup of soft butter (1 stick)

1 cup light brown sugar

1 cup flour

1 tsp cinnamon, optional

½-3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Place all of the ingredients except the walnuts into a bowl and cut with 2 knives or a pastry blender until it resembles crumbs, then add the walnuts and cut in until just blended through. Sprinkle on top of the batter making sure it is covered in the topping.

Bake for about 1 hour or until a cake tester comes out clean.

Be happy and live well!  And be sure to follow me on Facebook!

img_3576

Leave a Reply

