Roasted Vegetable and Bean Enchiladas

Well!   I was not expecting this to turn out as delicious as it did!

And I will definitely be making these more often. I am trying to eat more veggies….. (please don’t judge me!)

img_3593

I had some left over roasted veggies (peppers, broccoli and zucchini squash), cheese and sour cream in the fridge that I wanted to use up before it spoiled. I had a package of corn tortillas too. And then I remembered the can of enchilada sauce in my pantry.

img_3592

So, I only had enough veggies to make 3, it was probably about 1-1/4 cup of veggies. I spread about 2-3 tablespoons of refried beans on each shell, divided the veggies to each shell. Poured some sauce in a small baking dish and rolled each shell, placing the seam side down into the baking dish. I poured the rest of the sauce over the enchiladas, dotted with some queso fresco cheese and shredded cheese on top and baked them for about 30 minutes and the sauce was bubbly.

img_3592

Oh and I forgot to mention that the can of sauce said Medium heat. They lied! Wow did they lie!!

I topped them with a little sour cream, and seriously inhaled them!!

img_3591

You could very easily adapt this to whatever you have on had, and vary the amounts depending on how many mouths you have to feed, or how hungry you are.  Just be careful of the very spicy and hot sauce!

Roasted Vegetable and Bean Enchiladas

3 corn tortilla shells

1-1/4 cup chopped vegetable, roasted

6 T of any beans of your choice, I used refried beans

1 can of enchilada sauce

Queso Fresco cheese, ¾ cup cut in chunks

About 1 cup of your favorite shredded cheese

Preheat oven to 350. Pour a little sauce into your baking dish, just enough to coat the bottom. Spread 1-2 T of bean down the middle of each shell. On top of the beans, divide the veggies. Roll each tortilla and place seam side down into the sauce in the baking dish. Once all the shells are in the baking dish pour the remaining sauce over them, dot with the queso fresco and shredded cheese. Bake for about 30 minutes and the sauce is bubbly.

Live well and be happy!

Leave a Reply

