Easy Ham and Bean Soup

The Blizzard of 2016! Wow!!!   I cannot get out the back door and I am literally begging for someone with a snow blower to come to my house!

So, since I was stuck in the house it was a fabulous time to make ham and bean soup. I made a huge pot too because both my sons are out plowing all weekend and I wanted them so have some as well.

This has to be one of my most favorite hearty soups as well as comfort food!

Ham n Bean soup (4)

I prefer to use a white bean, I usually buy the white navy beans but the market was out and I found a bag of just a small white bean. I sorted through the beans and picked out a few stones, eww, rinsed them and soaked them in water all night.

Since I wanted the soup to ready for the boys by early to midafternoon, I started cooking as soon as I got up, which was pretty early!!

I rinsed and drained the beans and set them aside.

Ham n Bean soup (3)

In my soup pot I heated olive oil and sautéed a chopped onion and diced carrots. Poured in 2 cartons of chicken stock, a ham hock, bay leaf, a little salt and lots of pepper. And that’s it.

I brought the soup to a very low simmer, covered the pot and left it do its magic.

I did check the soup quite often to make sure it wasn’t getting to a boil, stirred often too.

My house smelled so amazing!

Now, about an hour before I plan to serve the soup I pull out the ham hock and pull any ham off and toss that back into the soup, discard the bones and fat. This ham hock had a good bit of ham on it but I have had some that had very little so I always buy a small ham slice as a back up. I decided to use a little of the extra ham so I cooked it for a few minutes in my cast iron skillet, both sides.

The rest of the ham I will save for the boys for sandwiches. Or freeze for later.

Ham n Bean soup (1)

The ingredient list you need for the bean soup:

1 ham hock, maybe a small ham slice for extra ham

1 bag of your favorite beans, I like white beans, soak overnight

1 small to medium onion, chopped

1 large carrot, diced in small pieces (maybe about 1/3 cup, ½ cup at the most)

Bay leaf, salt and pepper to taste

Olive oil to saute the veggies

This soup is super easy and full of flavor! Live well!

Be sure to follow me on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

