I Found a Treasure Chest!

Many years ago, I completely decorated my home in antiques.  Some were family heirlooms with sentimental value and many were purchased at local antique shops.  Since then my taste has changed and I guess I’m more modern now although I love to see  mix of modern and antique.

So, I am still working on settling in and fixing up my new home.  I very badly wanted a chest of drawers in my living room to use as storage for photo albums and other living room items.  I am also very stingy with my money.  Okay honestly…I’m cheap.

After browsing online and hitting all the local stores, I was frustrated.  New furniture is built cheap, yes I know I am cheap but…the cheap furniture is also expensive.  You know what I mean!!!

After deciding to hit some of the local antique shops, I cautiously ventured through a store just around the corner of my house.  And I certainly was not expecting to find something my first time out, but I did!

  
It was very rustic, VERY rustic!!!  I usually don’t care for things THAT rustic, but it caught my eye for some reason.  Oh, and the fact that is was CHEAP may have had something to do with it!!!  Listed at $65, and as stingy as I am and some encouragement from a friend, I asked for a lower price and got it!!

  
The chest is oak, has had some repair over the years and has what I think are hand cut nails.  And I LOVE the unfinished look!  

  
I think that is glue residue, not sure how to remove that yet.

The drawer pulls are comical though! They are not the original pulls, and they don’t match AND some of them are attached upside down!!!  

  
I think it adds character LOL!

  
The drawers do not slide well but my Uncle who is a carpenter, will be stopping by to give me some advice.

  
The lamp on the chest belonged to my parents, I added a more updated shade (instead of the retro shade it had!!).  But I’m thinking I might want something like a mercury glass lamp on the chest, yanno…that mix of old and new?! Family photo’s adorn the top and YES I am ready for fall, I just brought all my autumn decor up from the basement!

Now I’m searching for a hutch of some sort, glass doors, where I can display all my family dishes that I have collected over the years!

Live well friends!

Leave a Reply

