Stuffed Shells with Cheese

I have hardly cooked since I’ve moved.  Tried to work on some new recipes but I was always sidetracked with unpacking a box, hanging curtain rods or pictures, *sigh.  I’ve pretty much been surviving on cereal, fruit and peanut butter. And I’ve lost a little weight…

I seem to be 90% settled and have begun working on outside projects so I think I’ll just have to make myself cook more, there is only so much yard work my aching body can tolerate.

I was craving stuffed shells so I satisfied that craving with a pan full of them.  I might share with the kids….might.

Stuffed Shells with Cheese (4)

These shells are so easy to prepare and whip up pretty quickly.

Stuffed Shells with Cheese (1)

You will need:

1 box of jumbo shells

15 oz container of Ricotta cheese

1 cup shredded or grated Parmesan cheese

2 eggs

Salt and Pepper

Tomato sauce, prepared or homemade, about 24 ozs

Start a pot of water to boil, drop in at least 16 shells but I usually add 2-3 extra in the anticipation that some may tear.  Salt them as well.  Don’t over cook them!  They still need to be a little firm so they will be easy to stuff.

While the shells are cooking, prepare the cheese stuffing.  Add all the cheeses and the eggs to a bowl, add some salt and pepper. and stir until combined.  Keep cold until ready to stuff the shells.

You could also add parsley and/or chopped spinach to the cheese mixture.  I do love spinach in this recipe!!

When the shells are finished cooking, scoop them out of the pot and place them on a plate to cool for a few minutes. I like to drizzle a little olive oil over them to keep them from drying out too much.

Place a small amount of the tomato sauce into an oblong glass baking pan.  Begin to stuff your shells.  I don’t measure the cheese mixture to add to the shells, I just grab a spoon and stuff.  You will be able to tell if the shell needs more or less…it’s not difficult so if you have never made shells like this before, don’t stress over it!  Just spoon some in.  You can always go back and add more or take some out.

Once the shells are all stuffed and in the baking pan, spoon more sauce over the shells.  Now, I prefer a lot of sauce over my shells, when I made these I didn’t put that much on them so that you could see them better.  Bake at 350 for approximately 20 minutes or until sauce is bubbly.

Stuffed Shells with Cheese (6)

You can also top the shells and sauce with more cheese, which I did.  Serve with a salad and bread, I have also served these with meatballs on the side.  And a delicious bottle of wine too!

Stuffed Shells with Cheese (2)

Hope you enjoy these shells as much as I do!!

Live well!

Leave a Reply

