Cranberry Sauce

Since Thanksgiving is just days away, I thought I would re-post my Cranberry Sauce recipe. It is by far the best I have ever made!!
But this year, I think I might change it up and use pomegranate juice instead of the apple cider.
I love using the leftover sauce over my turkey sandwiches too!!
Happy Thanksgiving!!

Kartwheels in the Kitchen

According to some conversations I’ve heard, you are either a fan of homemade cranberry sauce or canned.  And this is true as there have been many members of my family that will only eat one or the other.  For me, it has to be homemade.  My Mammaw taught me how to make her recipe and for years that’s exactly how I made it.  Until about the last 7 years.  I started to cook the berries on the stove and each time I made it I would vary the ingredients.

But this is by far my favorite!

DSC_1088

1 bag of Cranberries

1 cup Apple Cider (or water)

1-1/4 cup Sugar

Pinch each of Nutmeg and Ground Cloves

1/8 tsp Cinnamon

1 T Brown Sugar

1/4 tsp Vanilla

Zest from an orange, and the juice

Wash, drain and pick through the cranberries.  Place the berries in saucepan and add the cider (or water) and cook…

View original post 129 more words

Leave a Reply

