Salted Caramel Smoothie

Salted Caramel ice cream and coffee’s seem to be a popular flavor these days.  Funny, but I can remember from my childhood that my Mom’s favorite ice cream was caramel, when it wasn’t popular.  Or salted!

There was a little dairy store in a neighboring country town that made their own ice cream, and even though I was always a chocolate kind of girl, that caramel ice cream was fantastic and I would often sneak a few spoonful’s of my Mom’s!  And, she usually had those little Kraft caramel candies in our pantry too so I totally understand the caramel addiction!

I’ve always loved caramel its just that chocolate took first place but now I seemed to have outgrown that chocolate phase (well….not entirely), I seem to choose caramel over chocolate these days.  Is that a sign of old age, or just big girl maturity?

So, when I go out, and I see salted caramel milkshakes, latte’s, etc, I will definitely choose that over chocolate.  Although I can do without the salted part.

DSC_1131

One evening I was craving something caramel and made this caramel smoothie.  Another new addiction!

I prefer to use plain greek yogurt for this recipe, you can use vanilla but I find that depending on the brand, the vanilla can overpower the taste I am going for, you use whatever you want.

Also, I am one to make just about everything from scratch however, when it comes to some things (like caramel topping) I will buy the jarred or bottled caramel sauce.  I don’t use that much so it’s really just a time saver thing for me, again, use what you want or what is easy for you.  But, homemade caramel sauce is the best!

DSC_1135

Here’s the recipe:

Into a small blender or smoothie maker add:

1/4 cup milk (almond or coconut works well too)

1 T sugar

1 cup plain yogurt (I always use greek)

1/4 tsp vanilla

Blend well.  Add 2 T caramel sauce and 2 dashes of salt and blend again.  Taste, adjust the caramel and salt to your liking, I added another tablespoon of caramel (total of 3 T for me!!)

Pour into your glass, top with whipped topping and a drizzle of caramel sauce and enjoy!

DSC_1130

Leave a Reply

