Frozen Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

I cannot imagine my life without the occasional indulgence of a yummy chocolate chip cookie fresh out of the oven!  However, making sure I eat healthy and even mildly trying to watch my gluten intake, make eating these little babies a special treat!

Chocolate Chip Cookies (2)

Not sure how many of you have tried my recipe that I posted before, BUT I think these are best, in my half baked opinion, if they are ‘under‘ baked.  Nonetheless they should be stored in a container that seals tightly.

But, you can FREEZE this cookie dough, in small amounts for the occasional treat of a few freshly baked cookies!!!  I usually have a few little bundles in my freezer, ready to be thawed in the fridge slowly for about 4 hours.  I wouldn’t suggest thawing on the counter since the dough does contain raw egg.  I have also had the dough in my freezer for 2-3 months and they baked lovely and tasted fabulous!!

DSC_1631

It’s also a nice little treat to share with someone special….like my grandkids!!  It’s fun to have these small batches and let the kids help to bake.

So, go ahead and prepare the recipe as follows:

Place in a large bowl and set aside: 2 cups plus 2T flour, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1/2 tsp baking soda

Meanwhile, melt 1 cup butter (2 sticks).  When cooled add: 1 cup dark brown sugar, packed (( I have been known to throw in an additional 1-2 T)),  and 1/2 cup granulated sugar.

Then mix in 1 large egg and 1 egg yolk along with 1/2 T vanilla extract.

Transfer the butter and sugar mixture to the flour bowl and mix by hand until just combined.  Don’t over mix!

Add 2 cups of chocolate chips, my secret is adding enough chips to TOTALLY fill the batter with chunks of chocolate!

Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about an hour.  Check the dough in about 30 minutes, if it’s getting too hard to work with remove from the refrigerator and move on to the next step.  The dough still needs to be “movable” so that you can shape it so you may NOT need to refrigerate.

DSC_1628

Divide the dough into the amount of batches that you want.  Remember that when you bake you will be using balls of dough that are just a little smaller than a golf ball to bake.  I usually do 3-4 little cookie packages!!!

DSC_1629

Spread out the plastic wrap.  After you have the dough divided place them on each piece of plastic wrap and form into a log shape.

Wrap the plastic over the dough and very lightly roll the dough a little to smooth out the shape.  Don’t handle the dough too much, the heat of your hands will start to soften the dough quickly.

Wrap up each package with a second piece of plastic wrap and slip into a ziplock freezer bag.  Date the bag so you can remember when you made the dough.  Pop them in the freezer!  Although you might want to bake a few cookies right away!!

Now, when you are ready to bake the cookies, don’t be fooled by the dough after it has been in the fridge for a few hours; the dough will be hard when you are ready to bake.  Don’t mistake it to be frozen.   I have left  the dough in the fridge for a full 24 hours before baking and that amount of time did NOT make the dough any more pliable.  And it’s still good!

Depending on the size of the cookie dough log, you could just make slices and bake.  I have also not rolled the dough into a log, it was just a mound of luscious dough, I just used a spoon to measure and scoop out.

DSC_1627

When ready to bake, Preheat oven to 325.  Drop the dough balls, a little smaller than a golf ball, onto your cookie sheet.  Bake for about 12-14 minutes but like I said, a little under baking is totally yummy!!!.  Allow to cool on your cookie sheet for a good 5 minutes or so, especially if you want them a little more gooey, then carefully transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling.

Chocolate Chip Cookies (1)

Hope you enjoy these as much as I do!!  Live well and eat chocolate chip cookies!!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Frozen Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

  1. I make and freeze cookie dough into golf size balls and just pop one or two into the oven at a time. That way you can take exactly how many you want. And… I don’t defrost them first. They take a minute or two longer but that’s it! Total instant gratification!

Leave a Reply

