Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

I know, to some just the thought of chocolate chips in banana bread sounds ridiculous!  But to me, and hopefully a few more, it is fantastically yummy!!

DSC_1532

I took the bread to work to share with the girls in my department.  Someone who shall remain nameless stopped in and I offered him a slice.  He is brutally honest on my baking!!  I asked him later if he liked it, he said he DID NOT like the chocolate with the banana bread!!  Did I happen to mention he can be BRUTALLY honest?!?!!!

DSC_1544

I have been playing around with my banana bread recipe, changing this or changing that, but this recipe, I think, is the best so far!!!

DSC_1533

Here’s my recipe for one loaf of this delicious bread!  It goes great with your morning coffee or tea!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, grease a 9×5 loaf pan.

In a large bowl combine:

1 and 3/4 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup white sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 and 1/2 cups mashed banana’s (about 4 medium banana’s)

Combine all ingredients except the mashed banana’s, by hand until blended.  Then add the banana’s and blend until well blended BUT do not over mix!!

Bake at 350 degrees for about 60 minutes.  Set your timer for 50 minutes, check with a cake tester to see if it comes out clean, if it DOES NOT tent the baking pan with foil and bake another 5-10 minutes until the cake tester comes out clean.

DSC_1545

That’s it!  Hope you enjoy it!  Oh, and it smells wonderful while it’s baking!! Do you see that little corner I broke off to nibble on while I took a picture!!

Live well friends!

DSC_1532

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

