Grandma’s Chocolate Sauce

My Grandmother used to make my brother and I this chocolate sauce for our ice cream…..  and trust me, she always had ice cream!  She also made it for my kids as well, my oldest son still raves about it.

Chocolate sauce (1)

Like I mentioned before in earlier posts, my Mom was raised on a farm, they were a poor family.  They made do with what they had, lived within their means (unlike most folks today) and were Pennsylvania Dutch.

I watched her make this chocolate sauce many times, she never measured her ingredients.  Must be where I get it from!  And, she only had three ingredients for this sauce, milk, cocoa and sugar.  It was sort of a glorified hot cocoa drink that was instead used for an ice cream sauce.

Chocolate sauce (3)

And since that is usually the only way I make hot cocoa for myself, I needed to try to make this sauce a little differently.  So, in honor of my Grandma I will still use two of her basic ingredients.  I really don’t want to change it too much so I’m going to just “enhance” her recipe.  I’ll be using some squares of chocolate to make it more rich and I’ll be using sweetened condensed milk to thicken it and replace the sugar.  Back in her day, they only had one kind of cocoa powder , not the dark chocolate that I prefer.  I really love using the Dark cocoa when I bake and I decided to give it a try in this sauce and I LOVE it!!

I melted 2 squares of a good unsweetened chocolate and butter in a glass bowl that sits over a pan of simmering water.  When that is completely melted I poured in sweetened condensed milk and blended it well.  I have a little hand whisk for sauces and gravies, it is my favorite kitchen tool!

Then I slowly drizzled in milk (about a tablespoon at a time) and the dark cocoa powder.  And that’s it!  The sweetened milk is sweet enough, so there is no need to add additional sugar (sorry Grandma!), and it also makes it just a tad bit thicker.

Chocolate sauce (4)

Store the sauce in a covered container in the fridge, IF you have any leftover!!  It makes about one cup of sauce.

Here’s the recipe:

2 squares unsweetened chocolate

1 T butter

½ cup plus 1 T sweetened condensed milk

¼ cup milk (measured by tablespoon at a time)

1 T dark cocoa

With a double boiler or a glass bowl sitting over a pan of water set to simmer, melt the 2 squares of chocolate and the butter.  When completely melted, pour in the sweetened condensed milk and stir gently to blend.  Once the chocolate mixture is heated, add milk, 1 tablespoon at a time to desired thickness.  When the chocolate sauce is heated again, blend in the dark cocoa and stir until blended well.  Cool the unused sauce and keep in the fridge.

2 thoughts on “Grandma’s Chocolate Sauce

Leave a Reply

