Grande Couscous with Greenbeans and Sundried Tomatoes

I prefer to take my own homemade meals to work for my lunch.  Cafeteria food just doesn’t cut it for me in sooo many ways!  And many nights I’m kinda busy with trying to get some exercise in, errands, Domestic Goddess duties or spend time with family and friends.  So I need something that whips up fast and is delish, this couscous recipe pretty much takes care of it!

I like to alter this recipe too, I have thrown in shrimp, changed the veggies, its awesome with aspargus tips or grilled red peppers and zucchini or squash.  I’ve also thrown in some frozen corn that I wanted to use up.   Go ahead and try different herbs and spices too, you really can’t mess this up…..unless you burn it!

Couscous with greenbeans sundried tomatoes (4)

Here’s the recipe:

2 T Olive Oil

½  cup Grande Couscous

2/3 c Green Beans, frozen pieces

¼ c Sundried Tomatoes, chopped

1-1/4 to 1-1/2 c Chicken Broth

Salt & Pepper

2 dashes of Turmeric (optional)

1 dash of Cayenne Pepper (optional)

 Use a large sauce pan for this.   Add the oil to a pan that is over a medium to a medium-high heat, add the couscous and stir almost continuously to toast..  You may have to turn your heat back so as not to burn the couscous, this should only take about 3 minutes.

Add 1-1/4 cup of chicken broth and reduce the heat to a low simmer.  Add the green beans and the chopped sundried tomatoes.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Add the turmeric and cayenne if you are using.

Stir occasionally.  When the broth is just about absorbed, taste the couscous.  If you would like it just a little more tender, as I do, add another ¼ cup of the broth.

This makes two large servings.  I like to sometimes top with a grated parmesan cheese but it is just as delicious without the cheese.  You could also serve this as a side alongside fish or chicken but I prefer to make it my main dish.

Grande Couscous is also called Israeli Couscous, or at least that’s what I’ve found.  Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do, its so versatile.

Leave a Reply

