My Mom’s Waffles & Dressing

This is a recipe that my Mom used to make for us kids, it’s a recipe that she learned to make from her childhood as a poor farm girl in the 40’s and 50’s.  I remember her telling me that as a teenager, she was so embarrassed by the condition of the house, that she never invited friends over.   I even remember her telling me that she stayed at the local YWCA for a little.  I guess growing up that poor, made her ashamed of the way she lived, sad for the things she didn’t have and eventually she became, and Mom I don’t mean this to sound as ugly as I think it will but, Mom got a little materialistic.  If you think about it, aren’t we all?  We like new things, pretty things, shiny things…I do and I’m not ashamed to admit it.  I even understand how being deprived of things makes you want those material things even more!  I’ve been there too!

Mom had some fun memories too, she didn’t have a father but she had an Uncle that she was extremely fond of.  He was so special to her, and he became special to me.  She glowed when she spoke of him. 

I remember her telling me about some baby ducklings at the pond on their farm.  On a cold and chilly night she feared for their safety.  Mom gathered the ducklings and put them in a shoebox and tucked them under the wood stove. Yea, not a smart move, but as a small little girl, she didn’t know any better!  You know what happened don’t you?  She was so sad at the roasted baby ducks the next morning and felt really bad.  I remember my Dad howling with laughter when she told us that story.

Mom was also raised by her Mother that was PA Dutch.  Remember my food post at Easter?  The Hog Maw Easter dinner?   And, they had to be creative with the food that they did have.  One of the things she made me as a child was  “Waffles and Dressing”.  It’s a simple sauce made from milk, flour, butter and cinnamon and it’s poured over toasted waffles.  I LOVE IT!  However, mine doesn’t turn out quite like hers, at least I don’t think it does but then everything our Mom’s make always tastes better right??

 

Waffles and dressing (3)

Here is what I do:

First, I set a picture of my Mom as a child on the counter so she can watch me cook and I can remember her cooking this for me.

Then I gathered my ingredients and realize again that I will never ever get this to taste as delicious as my Mom did!

The recipe: 

2 to 3 heaping tablespoons of light Brown Sugar (start with 2 and don’t make mountains out of the “heaping” part)

1 heaping tablespoon Flour

1 T butter

1 c Milk

About ¼ tsp of cinnamon

I have to warn you, this is not healthy or waistline friendly but I do promise you it is absolutely delicious!!

Okay, back to the recipe…..

Use a small saucepan and have all your ingredients ready.   I put the brown sugar and flour in the pan as it was heating over a medium heat, and used a small whisk to blend together.  Then I added the butter and continued to whisk until it melted, only a few seconds.  Next, I gradually added the milk, about a ¼ cup at a time.  Continue whisking, as it starts to thicken add another ¼ cup of milk.  When all the milk is added to the sauce, turn the heat on a low heat so that it continues to do a low simmer, keep an eye on it stirring occasionally.  Add the cinnamon and stir well, remove from heat.  Pour over toasted waffles and top with a sprinkle of cinnamon.  Or even some cinnamon whipped topping!!!  YUM!

Waffles and Dressing 2

You can probably feed about 4 people with 2 waffles each.  I like a lot of this sauce over my waffles, I’m crazy for it!!!!

Hopefully soon, I’ll post the chocolate sauce that my Grandmother made for me when I was growing up.  She also made it for my kids and my son still raves about it!

Hugs to all!

One thought on “My Mom’s Waffles & Dressing

Leave a Reply

