Apple Pancakes

I have been making apple pancakes for years!  In fact, I prefer my pancakes with either blueberries or apples.  But it’s usually apples. 

 

 I’m not sure I remember exactly which one of my family made them for me that got me hooked, but when I say I’ve been eating apple pancakes for years, it does date back to my childhood.

And my very favorite way to make pancakes is with Bisquick.  I’ve tried other brands, and made them from scratch, but there’s something about this mix that makes them turn out perfectly. 

You can make your favorite pancake batter too, just try reducing the milk/water/liquid part by ¼ cup for the applesauce.

So, here is how I make mine:

2 cups Bisquick

1 cup milk

1 egg

¼ cup unsweetened applesauce

½ tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

A dash each of nutmeg and ground cloves

Mix gently until nicely blended.

And finally, enough sliced and diced apples to make sure you have a piece of apple in every bite!!!  But since you’ll most likely want to measure for the first time, start with one heaping cup.  I like a lot of apples so I definitely use more than that!

Heat your pan on a medium heat, grease the pan with either a spray oil or a light coating of vegetable oil (just enough to coat the pan), you don’t want to deep fry these babies!!

Carefully ladle the apple pancakebatter mix into the pan, when the cakes start to bubble they are ready to flip and cook on the other side.  Please be careful not to burn them, they are so delicious!

The pancakes will be a little denser and heavier but they will have much more flavor.

You can serve with your favorite syrup or you can do what I do, and it is SO not healthy (like the syrup is)!  I smother the pancakes in butter and then add a sprinkle of sugar.  For some reason, when I was little, the only thing I could put syrup on was French toast, syrup on pancakes made me cry.   I was a strange little girl.

I hope you give these a try, and I really hope you love them as much as I do!!

Leave a Reply

