Pumpkin Zucchini Bread

I’m having soooo much fun adding zucchini to EVERYTHING I am baking!!  I’d like to think I’m making all my baked goods healthier!!!  Works for me!

I took my old pumpkin bread recipe and added zucchini, here ya go:

This makes 2 yummie loaves, one for now, freeze the other or if you feel like it, share the other. 

To a large bowl add all of the following:

3 cups flour

2 cups sugar

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoon double acting baking powder

1 teaspoon ground cloves

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)

2 cups grated zucchini (*cooks note)

2/3 cups vegetable oil

3 eggs

Mix until blended, divide batter between 2 loaf pans and bake at 350 for one hour or until a cake tester comes out clean. 

Remove from oven, set the pans on a cooling rack for about 10 minutes and then turn the loaves out onto the cooling racks until cool.  Wrap well in plastic.   

* Cooks Note:  Over the summer as I was given one huge zucchini after another, I grated them and froze them in zip bags in one cup measurements, so in this recipe I used some of that zucchini.  It gets very liquidy in the freezer, I didn’t drain too much of the liquid, it really helps to keep the loaves moist.

Enjoy!!!  The entire house will smell incredible!

7 thoughts on “Pumpkin Zucchini Bread

Leave a Reply

