Cranberry Chutney (Sauce)

Actually, my Mammaw called it cranberry sauce, and I mostly do to, it just sounds fancier if I use the word chutney.  AND, I like to make it year round to use on sandwiches.   It’s absolutely delish!

Anyway, back to Mammaw.  She taught me how to make the cranberry sauce.  And, she gave me her old manual food grinder.  I still have it too, it’s packed away in storage, I should dig it out!!  She made the sauce by adding an entire bag of cranberries through the grinder, then a whole orange, sliced of course, and seeds removed.  And that was it!  She added a healthy cup or two of sugar and stirred it well.  Popped it in an airtight container and left it sit in the fridge a few days before turkey day so it could get juicy and sweet.  My aunt added an apple and pear.

But then I found a recipe to cook the sauce on the stove, and I have been hooked ever since.  Now, I make it all differnt ways.  I like to add a splash of Triple Sec, Disaronno, a sprinkle of cinnamon, nutmeg, apple cider, or honey.

Here is the basics:

1 bag of cranberries, rinsed, sorted and any stems removed

Orange zest from 1 orange

Add the Orange juice from the zested orange to a measuring cup.  Then add apple cider, orange juice, water  to make 3/4 cups of liquid

3/4 c sugar

1 tablespoon honey or orange marmalade

Put all of the ingredients in a saucepan, heat on a medium to medium high heat until the berries start to pop and it begins to get a little bubbly.  Turn the heat back to medium low.   Don’t walk away and stir often.  If left unattended it can cook over.  When the berries have all popped, immediately remove from heat to cool.

After the pan is removed from the heat you can add the alcohol  if you wish to try the sauce that way, about 1 tablespoon.  If you want to try the cinnamon or nutmeg (1/4 tsp) or the honey (1 tablespoon), you can sprinkle that in as you add all the other ingredients.  Have fun and experiment, try chopping a pear or an apple and adding that with the cranberries.  I’m not a huge fan of of chunks of apple or pear in my cranberries, but you might love it.

I hope you enjoy this recipe.  Try it year round on crusty bread with your sandwiches, I love it.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

