Thoughts of Dad on Father’s Day Weekend

It’s been a little over two years that my Dad has passed.  Father’s Day is just one of the days that is a little difficult for me.  My Mom passed away six months before he passed.  Losing both parents in a matter of months, both to a heart attack, and not getting to say goodbye was one of the hardest things to get through.  I still struggle with the loss and grief at times, but the old saying is true, it gets better with time.

Anyway, back to Dad.  After Mom passed I begged him tirelessly to paint the trim and doors in my condo that I was remodeling.  He was a professional painter by nature of a family full of men that painted, one of his many talents.  I played on that talent, explaining, okay maybe more like whining, that I could never paint the trim as neatly as he could and I just didn’t have the time.  And honestly, I was starting to get tired of doing all the remodeling myself.   I thought it would do him good to get out of the house, and I promised him a good dinner when I got home from work.

He passed away 4 days after my birthday in February 2008.  I haven’t had the guts to even attempt painting the trim.  It’s the last thing I have to do to finish my little condo.  I decided this year, for Father’s Day weekend, in honor of my Dad I would paint the trim that he didn’t want to do but gave in to doing just to shut me up. 

But there’s something else you should know about my Dad, he was also good at practical jokes.  Any sort of harassing he could get away with…or not get away with, he would do.   I know he will be looking down at me this weekend, maybe even by my side, snickering, whispering in my ear things like, “you got trim paint on the wall/floor”, “you’re not doing it right!!”,  “steady your hand you’re shaking”, or “told you I didn’t want to do your damn painting!”

So, to all of you that still have your Dad’s, give them a hug for me and love them like there is no tomorrow, it might not be.

Cheers!

One thought on “Thoughts of Dad on Father’s Day Weekend

  1. awww.. im speechless!

    I am so sorry to hear about the loss, but time and love will heal all wounds.. even my mother passed away 3 years ago, and so, i can feel the pain you might be going through.. reading your post makes me realize not to waste any chance available to thank my father for the numerous sacrifices he has made for me.
    Thanks for sharing!

    God bless you! (:

Leave a Reply

